



By the Center for **Media and Democracy** www.prwatch.org

The highlighted individuals below were leaders in 2011 and previously; the unhighlighted individuals are still leaders as of June 2011.

ALEC EXPOSED

"ALEC" has long been a secretive collaboration between Big Business and "conservative" politicians. Behind closed doors, they ghostwrite "model" bills to be introduced in state capitols across the country. This agenda-underwritten by global corporationsincludes major tax loopholes for big industries and the super rich. proposals to offshore U.S. jobs and gut minimum wage, and efforts to weaken public health, safety, and environmental protections. Although many of these bills have become law, until now, their origin has been largely unknown. With ALEC EXPOSED, the Center for Media and Democracy hopes more Americans will study the bills to understand the depth and breadth of how big corporations are changing the legal rules and undermining democracy across the nation.

Home → Task Forces → Task Force Chairs

ALEC TASK FORCE CHAIRS

Civil Justice Task Force



Public Chair: Senator Bill Seitz (Ohio)

Private Chair: Victor Schwartz; Shook, Hardy & Bacon, L.L.P.

Director: Amy Kjose (202) 466-3800 Ext. 227 akjose@alec.org

Commerce, Insurance, and Economic Development Task Force



Public Chair: Representative Susan Lynn (Tennessee) Private Chair: Derek Crawford; Kraft Foods, Inc.

Director: Michael Hough (202) 466-3800 Ext. 255 mhough@alec.org



Although the current Private Chair as of June 2011 is Emory Wilkerson of State Farm Insurance, Derek Crawford of Kraft Foods was the Private Chair earlier in 2011

Education Task Force



Public Chair: Senator Nancy Spence (Colorado)

Private Chair: Mickey Revenaugh; Connections Academy

Director: Dave Myslinski (202) 742-3800 Ext. 228 dmyslinski@alec.org

Energy, Environment and Agriculture Task Force



Public Chair: Representative David Wolkins (Indiana) Private Co-Chair: Martin Shultz; Pinnacle West Capital Private Co-Chair: Tom Moskitis; American Gas Association

Director: Clint Woods (202) 466-3800 Ext. 224 cwoods@alec.org

Health and Human Services Task Force



Public Chair: Representative Linda Upmeyer (Iowa)
Private Chair: Julie Corcoran; Bayer Healthcare
Director: Christie Herrera

(202) 466-3800 Ext. 202 cherrera@alec.org

Although the current Private Chair as of June 2011 is Marianne Eterno of Guarantee Trust Life Insurance, Julie Corcoran of Bayer Healthcare was the Private Chair earlier in 2011

International Relations Task Force



Public Chair: Representative Harold Brubaker (North Carolina)

Private Chair: David Powers; Reynolds American Inc.

Director: Karla Jones (202) 466-3800 Ext. 237 kjones@alec.org

Public Safety and Elections Task Force



Public Chair: Representative Paul Ray (Utah)
Private Chair: Tara Mica; National Tifle Association

Director: Michael Hough (202) 466-3800 Ext. 255 mhough@alec.org

Although the current Private Chair as of June 2011 is Stacie Rumenap of Stop Child Predators, Tara Mica of the National Rifle Association was the Private Chair earlier in 2011, in 2010 and previously

Tax and Fiscal Policy Task Force



Public Chair: Senator Jim Buck (Indiana)

Private Chair: Bob Williams; Evergreen Freedom Foundation

Director: Jonathan Williams (202) 466-3800 Ext. 266 jwilliams@alec.org

Telecommunications and Information Technology Task Force



Public Chair: Representative Bill Hamzy (Connecticut)

Private Chair: Holly Reed; AT&T

Director: Seth Cooper (202) 466-3800 Ext. 246 sethcooper@alec.org



Although the current Private Chair as of June 2011 is Bartlett Cleland of the Institute for Policy Innovation-- a Texas think tank founded by Dick Armey-- Holly Reed of AT&T was the Private Chair earlier in 2011

About Us and ALEC EXPOSED. The Center for Media and Democracy reports on corporate spin and government propaganda. We are located in Madison, Wisconsin, and publish www.PRWatch.org, www.SourceWatch.org, and now www.ALECexposed.org. For more information contact: editor@prwatch.org or 608-260-9713.